top of page
  • tenbypenang-ecozine

Year 11 Creative Writing

Author: Shala Woon


*Photo by Shala from Tenby Schools Penang campus


Into the honeyed light of day, I wandered around the majestic land of mother nature in search of nectars for the construction of my new home. My visions were as blurry as a hot shower steam as I scanned through the striking green landscape. I searched high beyond the white fluffy cumulus clouds and as low as the depth of the earthy brown soil. No matter how far I went, there were no flowers in sight.



Drenched in the summer haze, I was close to reaching the point of giving up. With my glass-like wings and body covered in honeyed sweat, I was barely able to make it back home. Buzz...Buzz...I noticed the familiar calling, almost like a threatened creature was in need of my help. The trail of screams guided me behind a bush. There was not a single trace of life. It was dead silent. A vigorous force came from above as I sensed a flaming heat of the presence of a human being. Blinded by the sunlight, I could barely see a thing. A thick crisscross rope-like blanket fell from above, chaining my micro-body onto a surface.


I was as still as a thousand-year-old mummy, trying to escape from this hell chamber. It was as if my soul had left my body and hope slowly turned into darkness. Out of courage, I gripped onto a part of the rope, ripping it apart with my tooth-like fangs and finally felt a hint of light entering. I flew out of the nightmare cell as if I was a speeding bullet. I managed to escape, however I could not stop the accelerating speed and was forced onto a bumblebee yellow surface. An aromatic smell came from within and all I could see was glowing nectars ready to be collected. Today was an unforgettable adventure. What is an adventure you might ask? That depends on where you are starting from.

Recent Posts

See All

תגובות


bottom of page